Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join InRLA
ServSafe Alcohol FAQ

FAQs:  Requirements for Serving Alcohol in Indiana

All servers and clerks must hold an employee permit* BEFORE they can serve/sell alcohol.**

Additionally, training is required within 120 days of employment as an alcohol server or clerk. 
19 and 20 year old servers must be trained PRIOR to applying for a restricted alcohol Employee Permit.

EMPLOYERS:  You are required to keep a record of your employees’ permits and server training. Fines can be assessed by the ATC to you and your employee if working without the required permit and
training.

Check if your employees have current permits here: https://mylicense.in.gov/everification/

*also known as “Bartender Permit”, “Liquor License”, “Alcohol Permit” or “Server Permit”
**except for grocery and drug store clerks


Obtaining an Alcohol Employee Permit

Prerequisites

  • If you have had a driver’s license in a state other than Indiana in the last 10 years, you must first obtain a copy of your driving record and attach it to your Employee Permit application.
  • You may not be on probation for a DUI; if you have had 2 DUIs you must wait two years after your last conviction; and if you have had 3 DUIs you must wait ten years before you can apply for an alcohol Employee Permit.
  • 19 and 20-year-old servers should first obtain an Alcohol Server Training Certificate prior to applying for an alcohol Employee Permit

Application

Online: If you are at least 21, and have not had a driver’s license in another state; you may apply online. You must have a credit or debit card to apply online, otherwise use the mail-in option.

First Time Applicants: http://www.in.gov/atc/2643.htm

Print your receipt.  You may serve alcohol on the receipt for 60 days until you receive your permit. Once you receive your permit, take a copy to your employer. You must have your permit with you during times you are serving alcohol.

Renewals: http://www.in.gov/atc/2644.htm
Your login ID is your Permit Number and your password is the last 4 digits of your Social Security Number. Print your receipt. You may serve alcohol on the receipt for 60 days until you receive your permit.You must have your permit with you during times you are serving alcohol.

Mail-In:  If you have had a driver’s license in another state, or are a 19-20 year old; mail in your application. Attach to the application your driving record,  or your original training certificate if you are 19-20 years old. 

     Mail-In Form:  http://www.in.gov/atc/files/EmployeePermit_3_1-5-10.pdf
     You may serve alcohol on your money order receipt for 60 days until you receive your permit. Once you receive your permit, take a copy to your employer.  You must have your permit with you during times you are serving alcohol.

Fees: 
Type 900 - 3 Year Employee Permit (Fee $45.00)
Type 300 - 2 Year Restricted Permit for 19-20 years old (Fee $30.00)

 

Obtaining Indiana Certified Alcohol Server Training

Server training is required every three years

Online Training Available: If you currently hold an Employee Permit, you may take the free online course offered by the State of Indiana unless your employer requires another type of approved training. After completing the training, print your certificate and keep with your Employee Permit.

If you are 19-20 years old and need training prior to applying for your Employee Permit, you may take the online ServSafe Alchol course: 
https://inrla.site-ym.com/store/ViewProduct.aspx?id=5525025 
Fee:  $30
After completing the ServSafe Alcohol Primary Exam, print your certificate and attach to your Employee Permit application and send to the Alcohol & Tobacco Commission address printed on the application.

 

19-20 Year Old Restrictions

  • May only serve in the “family room” of a restaurant.  A “family room” is the area of the restaurant where patrons may be under the age of 21.
  •  May not act as a bartender.  A 19-20 year old may only deliver the drink to the table.  A bartender must pour the drink.
  •  Must be under the supervision of a manager at least 21 years of age who is licensed and trained.
Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal